Analytics, Covid-19, Direct Speech, Education and Science, EU – Baltic States, Latvia, Transport

International Internet Magazine. Baltic States news & analytics Friday, 30.07.2021, 04:43

Latvian professor: resumption of migration is a responsible and difficult moment for epidemiologists

BC, Riga, 03.06.2020.Print version
The resumption of international migration and the abolition of the self-quarantine requirements for residents of countries with low Covid-19 incidence will be a responsible and difficult moment for epidemiologists, Professor Girts Brigis, head of the Department of Public Health and Epidemiology at Riga Stradins University, told LETA.

According to Brigis, this will be a difficult period for epidemiologists, as travelers can potentially come from regions where the incidence is relatively higher than in Latvia.

At the same time, the professor noted that the easing of travel restrictions is secondary to the revival of economic and social processes, which is a significant reason.

Regarding the epidemiological situation in Latvia, Brigis pointed out that it is still stable and the fluctuation observed in recent days between zero to a very small number of cases "allows us to be optimistic". "However, the virus is still here," the professor said.

As reported, from today, when entering Latvia, residents of most European countries will no longer have to undergo a 14-day self-quarantine, the government decided on Tuesday.

The Cabinet of Ministers has amended the state of emergency order in Latvia, stipulating that people who arrive in Latvia from countries published on the website of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, which have a 14-day cumulative number of Covid-19 cases per 100,000 inhabitants that does not exceed 15, will not have to undergo a 14-day self-quarantine.

According to information published by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, these countries are: Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Italy, Denmark, Poland, Romania, France, Finland, Germany, Czech Republic, Estonia, Austria, Bulgaria, Lithuania, Hungary, Norway, Switzerland, Cyprus, Greece, Iceland, Slovakia, Croatia, Slovenia and Liechtenstein.

Meanwhile, residents of European countries which must still undergo a 14-day self-quarantine after entering Latvia at the moment include Sweden, the United Kingdom, Portugal, Belgium, Malta, Ireland and Spain.

Search site