Analytics, Elections, Legislation, Lithuania

International Internet Magazine. Baltic States news & analytics Friday, 09.12.2022, 14:14

Numbers of seats in Lithuanian Seimas, won by political parties

BC, Vilnius, 26.10.2020.Print version
The results of Sunday's parliament election runoff in Lithuania show the new parliament will have representatives from ten political parties, as well as four lawmakers who ran for parliament independently, informs BNS/LETA.

BNS provides the numbers of mandates won by every political party: 

* The Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats – 50 mandates

* The Lithuanian Farmers and Greens Union– 32 mandates

* The Liberal Movement – 13 mandates

* The Social Democratic Party of Lithuania – 13 mandates

* The Freedom Party – 11 mandates

* The Labor Party – 10 mandates

* The Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania – Christian Families Alliance – 3 mandates

* The Social Democratic Labor Party of Lithuania – 3 mandates

* The Freedom and Justice Party – 1 mandate

* The Lithuanian Green Party– 1 mandate

* Independents – 4 mandates

Five out of eight ministers from the outgoing government in Lithuania, who ran for parliament, have secured seats in the new Seimas. And Prime Minister Saulius Skvernelis will also stay in the parliament.

The new Seimas, however, will not include three incumbent ministers, including Economy Minister Rimantas Sinkevicius, Foreign Minister Linas Linkevicius and Transport Minister Jaroslav Narkevic.

Agriculture Minister Andrius Palionis, representing the Social Democratic Labor Party of Lithuania, Interior Minister Rita Tamasuniene and Environment Minister Kestutis Mazeika secured parliamentary seats in the election runoff.

Having lost their election bids in single-member constituencies, Prime Minister Skvernelis and Health Minister Aurelijus Veryga got into the parliament under the Lithuanian Farmers and Greens Union's candidate list in the first round of voting when voters picked candidates from political parties' lists, and Social Security and Labor Minister Linas Kukuraitis also secured a parliamentary mandate under the LFGU list after deciding not to run for parliament in a single-member constituency.

Search site