Analytics, Energy, EU – Baltic States, Nuclear Power, Nuclear power plant, Statistics

International Internet Magazine. Baltic States news & analytics Thursday, 09.04.2020, 19:41

Eurostat: Slight rise in production of nuclear heat in 2018 i

BC, Riga, 27.02.2020.Print version
In 2018, there were nuclear reactors in operation in 13 European Union (EU-27) Member States: Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Germany, Spain, France, Hungary, the Netherlands, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden. There are no nuclear facilities in the other EU-27 Member States.

The total production of nuclear heat in the EU-27 in 2018 was 195 738 thousand tonnes of oil equivalent (toe), a decrease of 8.1% compared with 2009, but a slight increase (0.1%) compared with 2017.

France was by far the largest producer of nuclear heat in 2018 (107 629 thousand tonnes of oil equivalent), followed by Germany (19 571 ktoe) and Sweden (16 727 ktoe).

The production of nuclear heat is considered in energy statistics as the energy source for nuclear energy, i.e. the total amount of heat obtained from the fission of nuclear fuels in nuclear reactors. This heat is subsequently used for the production of electricity or for other useful applications of heat.

Search site