EU – Baltic States, Latvia, Legislation, Tourism, Transport

International Internet Magazine. Baltic States news & analytics Thursday, 19.07.2018, 22:19

Qatar waives visas for citizens of 80 countries, including Latvia

BC, Riga, 10.08.2017.Print version
Qatar announced on August 9th, 2017 a program to allow visa-free entry for citizens of 80 countries, including Latvia, reports LETA.

Under the new program, nationals of 33 countries, mostly from the Schengen Area, are no longer required to buy visas for an up to 90-days stay in Qatar. They only need a valid passport to enter Qatar.


Nationals of other 47 countries, including the U.S., the UK and Japan, will be allowed to stay in Qatar for up to 30 days, but the term can be extended to 30 more days.


"The visa exemption scheme will make Qatar the most open country in the region," Hassan al-Ibrahim, Chief Tourism Development officer at Qatar Tourism Authority told reporters at a press conference in Doha.


In June, Qatar’s neighbor countries Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) severed diplomatic ties and transport links with Qatar accusing the country of supporting terrorism and of close ties to Iran.


Doha denies the charges.

Search site