Baltic States – CIS, Covid-19, EU – Baltic States, Legislation, Tourism, Transport

International Internet Magazine. Baltic States news & analytics Saturday, 04.07.2020, 05:01

EU's external borders to remain closed to citizens of most third countries

BC, Riga, 30.06.2020.Print version
The European Union will continue to ban travelers from the United States and most other countries beyond July 1, dpa informed, citing EU diplomats, informs LETA.

Only 14 countries made it onto the list of states that will be allowed into the bloc, including Australia, Canada, and Thailand.

Chinese citizens will be allowed in principle - but only once China lifts its ban on EU citizens.

The European Council has now initiated the formal written procedure to pass the agreement,  according to EU diplomats.

The agreement comes three months after the EU - plus Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and  Liechtenstein - closed its external borders to all non-essential travel due to the coronavirus  pandemic.

It follows weeks of intense discussions between EU member states about which countries the group should open its borders to and which ones to ban.

    Search site