Estonia, Legislation, Society

International Internet Magazine. Baltic States news & analytics Saturday, 13.08.2022, 06:07

New Estonian social minister Taavi Rõivas gives an oath of office

Juhan Tere, BC, Tallinn, 12.12.2012.Print version
Taavi Rõivas gave on Tuesday his oath of office to start working as the new Estonian Social Minister as of December 11, LETA/Delfi reports.

Estonian President Toomas Hendrik Ilves signed on Monday, at the proposal of Prime Minister Andrus Ansip, a resolution to modify the composition of the government, releasing Kristen Michal from the office of the Minister of Justice, appointed the current Minister of Social Affairs Hanno Pevkur to office as the Minister of Justice and appointed former member of the Riigikogu, Taavi Rõivas, to office as the Minister of Social Affairs.


Rõivas (33) was so far the Riigikogu European Union affairs committee head and in the previous Riigikogu, a member of the social committee. He is an MP of the Reform Party since 2007.


"Assuming the responsibilities of a member of the Government of the Republic, I am aware that I will be responsible in this position to the Republic of Estonia and my own conscience. I vow to remain loyal to the Constitution of the Republic of Estonia and devote my efforts to ensuring the good and future of the Estonian people," said Rõivas in reading the oath of office required of a cabinet member.


Minister of Justice Kristen Michal submitted a letter of resignation to Prime Minister Ansip last Thursday. The President of the Republic, Toomas Hendrik Ilves, released Michal from the office of justice minister on December 10th.


On December 10, 2012, President Ilves signed the decision on making changes to the members of the Cabinet, at the proposal of Prime Minister Ansip.


The members of the Cabinet are now Prime Minister Andrus Ansip, Minister of Education and Research Jaak Aaviksoo, Minister of Justice Hanno Pevkur, Minister of Defence Urmas Reinsalu, Minister of the Environment Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Minister of Culture Rein Lang, Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications Juhan Parts, Minister of Agriculture Helir-Valdor Seeder, Minister of Finance Jürgen Ligi, Minister of Regional Affairs Siim Valmar Kiisler, Minister of the Interior Ken-Marti Vaher, Minister of Social Affairs Taavi Rõivas and Minister of Foreign Affairs Urmas Paet.

Search site