EU – Baltic States, Latvia, Legislation

International Internet Magazine. Baltic States news & analytics Sunday, 14.04.2024, 08:53

Ineta Ziemele elected ECHR section president

Alla Petrova, BC, Riga, 04.07.2012.Print version
Yesterday, the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) elected a new vice-president – Dean Spielmann (Luxembourg) – and a new section president – Ineta Ziemele (Latvia), according to the Court's statement to the mass media.

Ineta Ziemele.

Spielmann and Ziemele have been elected for a three-year term and will take up their respective duties on September 13, 2012, writes LETA.


The Court is composed of one judge in respect of each of the 47 states to have ratified the European Convention on Human Rights. Judges work in five sections from which chambers of seven judges are constituted. The Court also sits as a grand chamber of 17 judges. The Court has two vice-presidents both of whom also preside over sections, the other three sections each having a section president.

Search site