Agriculture, Foodstuff, Latvia, Markets and Companies

International Internet Magazine. Baltic States news & analytics Thursday, 17.10.2019, 09:07

African swine fever suspected on large pig farm in Skaista Country

BC, Riga, 04.08.2014.Print version
The Food and Veterinary Service inspectors have taken samples from a farm in Skaista Country where African swine fever is suspected, informs LETA.

There are more than 200 pigs on the farm, which is located in the quarantine zone for African swine fever in Kraslava Region.

The Food and Veterinary Service was notified by the farm's owner that pigs' condition was deteriorating and several pigs were dead. All the necessary safety measures have been enforced on the farm while the samples are analyzed at laboratories.

Last weekend, several new cases of African swine fever were confirmed on farms in Dagda Region, Kraslava Region, and Valka Region. All the infected pigs have been incinerated by today.

Therefore, African swine fever has been found in 45 wild boars and 46 domestic pigs so far.

Agriculture Minister Janis Duklavs will be visiting the African swine fever quarantine area together with the Food and Veterinary Service Director General Maris Balodis and State Police officials on August 6 and 7.

During the visit, the minister will inspect several farms subject to bio-security measures and the places where carcasses of wild boars and domestic pigs are incinerated.

Taking into consideration that the situation has been growing worse since African swine fever was confirmed in Latvia on June 26, slaughtering pigs on a massive scale began last week in the area where a state of emergency had been announced, in line with the government's strategy for battling the disease.

The total number of pigs on Latvian farms was 350,000 last year, including about 40,000 pigs in Latgale province.

As reported, African swine fever was first confirmed in Latvia on June 26, in the carcasses of three dead wild boars found just a few meters from the Belarusian border.

A week later, Saema declared a state of emergency from July 2 until October 1 in Ambeli County, Bikernieki County, Demene County, Dubna County, Laucesa County, Malinova County, Naujene County, Saliena County, Skrudaliena County, Tabore County, Vecsaliena County, Viski County of Daugavpils Region; Aglona Region, Kraslava Region, Dagda Region, Zilupe Region; Kaunata County, Makonkalns County, Pusa County of Rezekne Region; Brigi County, Isnauda County, Istra County, Nirza County, Nuksi County, Pilda County, Rundeni County of Ludza Region, and Cibla Region.

On July 22, Saeima also declared a state of emergency in Rezekne, Ludza, Aloja, mazsalaca, Rujiena, Naukseni, Valka, Burtnieki, Koceni, Beverina, Strenci, Priekuli, Rauna, Smiltene, Ape, Aluksne, Vilaka, Balvi, Rugaji, Baltinava, Karsava, Preili and Riebini regions.


Search site