Covid-19, EU – Baltic States, Legislation, Lithuania, Transport

International Internet Magazine. Baltic States news & analytics Sunday, 05.07.2020, 19:30

Lithuanian MFA cancels recommendation not to travel to some EEA countries

BC, Vilnius, 01.06.2020.Print version
Lithuania's Ministry of Foreign Affairs says it's cancelling the existing recommendations against travelling to certain countries in the European Economic Area, informs LETA/BNS.

"The warning not to travel to Belgium, the United Kingdom, Sweden and Portugal remains," the ministry said.

Moreover, the ministry called on people to refrain from travelling to Ireland, Spain and Malta where the number of COVID-19 cases has remained above 15 per population of 100,000 for the past two weeks.

People travelling to other EEA countries are urged to take measures of precaution. "It is also worth noting that the morbidity situation can change very rapidly and that could lead to the reintroduction of necessary restrictions in both foreign countries and Lithuania," the ministry said in a statement.

"As the memorandum of mutual understanding on the annulment of road, rail, air and sea travel restrictions among Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia has come into force, the Foreign Ministry no longer provides specific recommendations for those travelling to those countries as of June 1," the statement reads.

Earlier on Monday, Lithuania's Health Ministry issued a list of 27 countries whose citizens can come to Lithuania. People coming from 24 of them will not need to self-isolate for two weeks.

The requirement to self-isolate will not apply to those arriving from Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Italy, Denmark, Poland, Romania, France, Finland, Germany, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Austria, Bulgaria, Latvia, Hungary, Norway, Switzerland, Cyprus, Greece, Iceland, Slovakia, Croatia, Slovenia and Lichtenstein.

Self-isolation will be mandatory for those coming from Malta, Ireland and Spain but people can come from these countries.

According to the ministry, if the number of COVID-19 cases has ranged from 15 to 25 per population of 100,000 for the past 14 days, citizens of these countries will be allowed to come to Lithuania and will have to self-isolate for 14-days. If the number of COVID-19 has stayed below 15 per population of 100,000 for the past 14 days, citizens of such countries will be able to come to Lithuania without mandatory 14-day isolation.

Meanwhile, Lithuanian citizens are allowed to return from any country but will need to self-isolate for two weeks, if they come from countries where the number of COVID-19 cases has been over 15 per population of 100,000 for the past two weeks.

Health Minister Aurelijus Veryga will publish an updated list of countries every Monday.

The ministry also paid attention to the fact that if some country was not on the Lithuanian list, it would not mean it accepts Lithuanians as there is no joint agreement of all EEA countries.

Search site